Private Equity and Hedge Fund Compliance Webinar November 8, 2011 at 1230 pm

Join Michael Volkov, Andrew Hulsh and Richard Rosenfeld 
Mayer Brown LLP Partners —  November 8, 2011 at 12:30 pm  

In this era of aggressive enforcement of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and anti-corruption laws, the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) have now turned their attention to private equity and hedge funds. The implications of this new initiative are far-reaching and cut across all private fund operations, particularly when such funds are purchasing and acquiring foreign companies.

A recent survey of corporate executives, investment bankers, private equity executives and hedge fund managers found that 63 percent of respondents reported that the FCPA and anti-corruption issues caused their companies to renegotiate or pull out of planned business relationships, mergers or acquisitions over the last three years. Join Mayer Brown partners Andrew Hulsh, Richard Rosenfeld and Michael Volkov who will address the following issues:

• The focus of the DOJ and SEC on private equity and hedge funds and the implications of anti-corruption enforcement to the business operations of such funds;

• The extent to which officers, directors and employees at private equity and hedge funds can be held liable under the FCPA and other anti-corruptions law for violations;

• The impact of the FCPA and anti-corruption laws on the purchase and sale of foreign companies; and

• The need for private equity firms and hedge funds operating in the international arena to re-tool their compliance controls and mechanisms to protect themselves from enforcement.

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Europe

6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CET
5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. GMT

United States

12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EST
11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CST
10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. MST
9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. PST

CLE credit is pending.

Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

For additional information, please contact Jean Shim at +1 202 263 3885 or jshim@mayerbrown.com.

You may also like...